Kanawha Trace 50K course recon today

Did a little course recon today… and I mean just a little recon, only went out to mile marker 28 or so… about 3 miles into it as I parked right as the trail dives into the woods at MM 31. It’s kind of tough at the start with a good bit of up and down, sort of sharp changes in the trail, punchy little climbs and sort of steeper descents and a good bit of switch-backy sort of stuff too, all in the first 3 miles. I take some solace in the admission in the course description that the first half is tougher than the second half of the race, so lets hope it’s not like this for the entire race or else I will be in for a long slow day! I am glad that I got to check it out though as I have confirmed that my shoe choice is spot on: Mountain Masochist it shall be and I think it will be perfect for this course. I am packing my La Sportiva Crosslite 2.0’s in my drop bag just in case I end up needing another pair of shoes, but unless they get absolutely waterlogged, I plan to stick with the Montrails. I think the two handhelds (12 oz. Amphipod’s) will be good and probably stick with my North Face shorts as the little pockets for gels are just so awesome… I am not a big fan of the waist band, it’s a bit snug for me even in a size Large shorts, but otherwise they are perfect ultra shorts for me. Coolmax socks and a clean dry pair for changing into at the halfway AS and probably my National Guard singlet for a top. That way if I decide to go shirtless at any point the singlet will be easy to carry tucked in my shorts. I suppose I am as ready as I can get for now, as usual, undertrained, but will take this and build on it for the two big ones in the fall: Rock Creek Stump Jump 50k in Chattanooga, TN Oct 1st; and the WV Trilogy 50k at Spruce Knob the following weekend, Oct 7th. Good times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

